Tamara Philip, Author

Where Love blossoms…

Authors with Flair…Adrienne Ruvalcaba interview

2 Comments

Adrienne Ruvalcaba‘s The Prostitute’s Daughter is a gripping, intense, edgy and yet sweet novel. How does one book accomplish all of that? Perhaps it’s a reflection of its author and all the layers of her personality?  Luckily for me, she allowed me to interview her in all her mysterious glory…

 In less than 30 words, tell us about The Prostitute’s Daughter?

The Prostitute’s Daughter is the story of a man who loves a woman who doesn’t believe in love. He loves her even when she isn’t capable of loving herself.

How long did it take you to write it?

It took me five years to write this book. I wrote it in my spare time while I was dealing with a things, including the end of an abusive marriage, going to engineering school full time while single parenting two small children, working, and coming to grips with serious health issues and a subsequent diagnosis of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus.

Why did you write it? or better yet where did the plot idea come from?

The plot idea came from my intimate experience with survivors of abuse. At a young age, I witnessed a very dear loved one go through unspeakable abuse. I also witnessed this person’s metamorphosis into a completely different person. This person never received the love they needed and deserved, and, as a result, they never healed properly. I too am a survivor of abuse, but I was able to find peace and healing through love and support. The redeeming power of love is sometimes the only way to drive out certain kinds of darkness in one’s soul. The Prostitute’s Daughter is a story that captures that concept and gives it an emotionally fulfilling little fairytale twist.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

I’m definitely more of a doer than a talker. I’m a person of few spoken words, but I’m very good at plodding along like a machine and accomplishing one small, manageable task after another. I’m all about the daily grind.

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?

I would enrich the lives of everyone I love, and pay off my student loans and medical bills.

When did you realize that you wanted to be a writer professionally?

I realized I wanted to write professionally when I was in engineering school. I sat through Soil Dynamics class and realized that I didn’t care enough about calculating the shear modulus of different types of soil. All I wanted to do was get back to the book I was writing in my spare time.

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?

I have never been out of the United States, so I would love to travel to Africa if I could.

If you could only pick two people, living or dead, famous or not, to read your book, who would they be and why?

I would choose Dostoyevsky and my late grandmother, Elouise Brooks Lara.

I chose Fyodor Dostoyevsky, because I believe we have a lot in common. We both earned engineering degrees, yet went on to write fiction novels. He had some uniquely harsh times in his life, as I have had in mine. He chose to write dark, existential stories that take us into the heart and soul of those who are crushed by the system, and I chose to write dark stories with a fairytale twist that highlight the restorative power of love.

I also chose my late grandmother, Elouise Brooks Lara, because she was the single most influential person in my entire life. If not for the love and discipline she showed me, I would not have made it very far in life. It makes me sad that she died before she could read even one of my published books. She would have been proud. When I first learned the term “Soul mate,” I knew that my granny was that person for me.

At what age did you become an emotional and mental adult?

I became an emotional and mental adult when I stepped on my first airplane to report to basic training at the age of 18. For the first time in my life, I was leaving a little two hundred mile radius of southeast Texas that I’d never left before. Once that plane took off, I knew there was no going back. I became a completely new person in that instant.

 What would you name the autobiography of your life?

The title would be “This One Time, In Texas…” because that’s how all of my most interesting stories begin.

 The Prostitute’s Daughter on sale now!

23014404

Amazon link:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MNIL9AW

Barnes&Noble link:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-prostitutes-daughter-adrienne-dnelle-ruvalcaba/1120170356?ean=9780985467210

Goodreads link:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23014404-the-prostitute-s-daughter

Visit her Facebook page: www.facebook.com/pages/Adrienne-Dnelle-Ruvalcaba

And on WordPress.com: http://indigoplume.wordpress.com/

Author: Tamara Philip, Author

Author of Interracial novels including but not limited to romance. Aspiring writer of supernatural fantasy books.

2 thoughts on “Authors with Flair…Adrienne Ruvalcaba interview

  1. Reblogged this on indigoplume and commented:
    Thank you Tamara Philip for doing this interview!

Leave a Reply

