Tamara Philip, Author

Where Love blossoms…

Authors with Flair: Chelle Cordero

3 Comments

At Vanilla Heart Publishing, we have a dream team of 8 insanely talented writers and I was lucky enough to get an interview with the brilliant, Chelle Cordero, the award winning author of ‘A Chaunce of Riches‘ plus 9 more equally fantastic novels. She’s also a full-time freelance journalist for multiple publications;her articles appear regularly throughout North America and she writes a monthly column on NYS Emergency Medical Services issues as a NYS Emergency Medical Technician (First Responder News).

Her heartfelt, passionate novels will have you at the edge of your seat and it was such a treat to get to know the woman behind her work.

In less than 30 words, tell us about  “A Chaunce of Riches”?

How far would you go for love? Sam and Ben were meant to be together, but a car accident changed all that.

If you could cast your characters in the Hollywood adaptation of your book, who would play your characters?

Actually I usually visualize the scenes as I’m writing them, just as if I was watching a movie, so in many cases I write the characters with the actors in mind.

Ben Johnson:  Galen Gehring

Samantha Chaunce: Liv Tyler

Do you have a specific writing style?

I am not a plotter, I’m a pantser. My characters come to life as I write and while there are times I rope them back in they pretty much “write” their own stories. I have to admit, sometimes they even surprise me.

If you could only pick two people, living or dead, famous or not, to read your book, who would they be and why?

Daisy Aldan, poet (deceased) – My Creative Writing teacher in high school. Ms. Aldan really encouraged all of her students to believe in themselves and use words to express the deepest feelings. I had always planned to send her my first published novel but unfortunately she passed away before I ever had the chance. I really believe that the woman, who was able to get me to write a passionate love letter to a guitar, would appreciate the fact that I LOVE writing about love.

Penny Marshall, actress and director – Well you did ask about that Hollywood casting. Actually I knew Penny when I was growing up. Her mother, Marjorie, was a dance teacher who owned her own dance studio in the neighborhood. All of the local moms sent their daughters to these classes – I was kind of the klutz with a bad back, but my sister was one of the star pupils. Penny used to help her mom out with classes. Of course I would appeal to the nostalgia and all and I wouldn’t hesitate to ask if she would consider the potential of a movie based on my book.

When did you realize that you wanted to be a writer professionally?

I always wanted to write, but actually doing it professionally was never a “realization” – the profession sort of “found me”. I knew that I wanted to do something in the arts  – although I also entertained the idea of being a police officer, a nurse, or a secret agent – I went to the High School of Art and Design, The New York Academy of Dramatic Arts, and Fordham University at Lincoln Center (Theatre major). I dabbled in low-paying and non-paying artistic endeavors, but I did join the “regular” work force for a steady paycheck. When we were expecting our first child I started writing from home hoping to build some kind of an at-home business. I was successful in finding some paying writing gigs for local newspapers and magazines (journalism, advertorial and copywriting). After a while I went back to my first writing love of creative writing. Eventually I connected with the fabulous Kimberlee Williams, managing editor and publisher extraordinaire of Vanilla Heart Publishing – the rest has been blissful history. (By the way, I still am a journalist.)

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?

Tithe, give to charity. I won’t deny that my family would benefit greatly from the funds, but the first thing I would want to do would be to express my gratitude and contribute to worthwhile charitable causes and hope that my good fortune could do some good in the world. Then I would start taking care of my family; money is not everything, there are many other kinds of riches, but I won’t deny that money would help towards making some yearned for plans and hopes come to be.

Is this your first book? How many books have you written prior (if any?)

Currently I have ten novels and I am working (slowly…) on number eleven; A Chaunce of Riches was my sixth book. I also have a short story collection, writing guides based on my long-time Amazon Kindle blog (Living, Breathing, Writing), and a freebie informational e-book What to Do Until the Ambulance Arrives. A Chaunce of Riches is a contemporary romantic suspense as are six other books (Bartlett’s Rule; His Lucky Charm; Within the Law; Courage of the Heart; Hostage Heart; and Common Bond, Tangled Hearts). I have two EMS-based (Emergency Medical Services, from my background as an EMT) novels, both murder mystery with a strong love connection, Final Sin and Hyphema. My most recent novel, Karma Visited is a contemporary paranormal romantic suspense – so is my current WIP (work-in-progress).

What would you name the autobiography of your life?

I Planned, God Laughed (and the cover would be a BIG smiley face)

Are you on facebook or twitter?

Of course, lol.  My Facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/AuthorChelleCordero and my Twitter account is https://twitter.com/ChelleCordero   I adore the opportunity to “meet” readers and other writers through social media.

Author: Tamara Philip, Author

Author of Interracial novels including but not limited to romance. Aspiring writer of supernatural fantasy books.

3 thoughts on “Authors with Flair: Chelle Cordero

  1. What an awesome interview. Tamara, you’re the best!

  2. Yes Neva, she certainly is.

    Tamara, thank you for this beautiful spotlight. I am so honored by your words. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

