Tamara Philip, Author

Where Love blossoms…

Authors with Flair: Lauren Shiro

1 Comment

Next up in my Author spotlight is the amazing Lauren Shiro, acclaimed author of the Loving Her Series. A collection of compelling stories of love that knows no bounds are an absolute must read. It was such an absolute pleasure to interview someone who writes such fascinating, inspiring contemporary LGBT fiction and romance novels.  I couldn’t wait to learn more about her and now you get to do so too! Consider it a gift 🙂
 6df367d116230a82390ba3.L._V343948942_SX200_ 51ECPNxKw6L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_
When did you realize that you wanted to be a writer professionally?
As far back as I can remember. LOL. Writing has always been my dream. While most kids would run out and play or ride their bicycle, I was up in my room writing “novels.” It’s just who I am and what I do.

In less than 30 words, tell us about “The Loving Her series”?
Eeek! LOL. I hope I can do this. LOL. Ok: A series of interwoven stories about love, life, and friendship “starring” some extraordinary women.

What was the last movie, TV show or book that made you cry or tear up?
That’s a toughie. I get teary-eyed all the time! LOL. One of my all-time tear-jerkers is Seven Pounds. I watch it from time to time, knowing it’s going to tear me apart. LOL. For me, it is easily one of the best written stories and a movie that has tremendous depth and emotion. So, I’ll go with that one. LOL.

Do you have a specific writing style?
Not a formal style, per se. I just go with what comes to me in words and images. My writing voice is my voice. I believe that all writers have their own unique voices and writing styles. So, mine is just my own.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?
Probably. I’m a bit of a talker. LOL.

If you could only pick two people, living or dead, famous or not, to read your book, who would they be and why?
First would be my grandfather. He was the most important person in my life. He always supported my writing. He passed away on April 3, 2013. I would love for him to see how well my writing has come along (and to see that I dedicated the entire Loving Her series to him).
Secondly, I would love to have Gabriel Garcia Marquez read my work. He is a literary giant, in my opinion. His work was very influential on me. I would love to see and hear what he would think of my work (he passed away earlier this year).

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?
Divide it up. I would take enough to give my family a comfortable life (maybe get a toy or two), but I’d also give some back to family and friends who have always been there for us. Most importantly, I would give a large portion of it to different charities and organizations that I believe in. I don’t need that much, and if I am given the opportunity to help others, I will absolutely take than opportunity and give.

Are you on facebook or twitter?
I am. My Facebook page is Facebook.com/laurenshiro77
My twitter is twitter.com/authorlshiro @authorlshiro

Is this your first book? How many books have you written prior (if any?)
It is and it isn’t. The gang from the Loving Her series have been with me for ages. Their original stories were my first jump back into fiction writing (back in 2006). Since the original release, I’ve written other novels and short stories. I was just given the amazing opportunity to revisit them and to really write the stories that those women deserved.

What are you working on now? What is your next project?
I have a paranormal story called Piannissimo coming out this fall, which I am VERY excited about. I have also begun to work on a story called Life, Upside Down. Stay tuned for more details for both of those.

Author: Tamara Philip, Author

Author of Interracial novels including but not limited to romance. Aspiring writer of supernatural fantasy books.

One thought on “Authors with Flair: Lauren Shiro

  1. Terrific interview Tamara. Lauren is so very talented, I adore her Loving Her stories.

Leave a Reply

