Tamara Philip, Author

Where Love blossoms…

Authors with Flair interview with…Angela Kay Austin

Leave a comment

She’s done everything from songwriting to acting, not to mention she plays various musical instruments, fellow VHP author and resident superstar, Angela Kay Austin is definitely a writer you want to get to know more about.  Her books including her latest, Rumer, is out now on amazon and all other ebook devicesrumer_cvr_for_nt_book_club_extras

When did you realize that you wanted to be a writer professionally?

As a child, I dreamed about selling book, one day.  That it would become a super bestseller, and that I’d be able to do all kinds of great things for my parents and travel  But, in order for that to happen, I guess that you actually have to submit something, once in awhile.  I submitted a few stories to teen magazines and magazines for women over the years, but none of them were ever published.  It was not until Love’s Chance was published that I realized this dream could be realized!

In less than 30 words, tell us about “Rumer”

The story of a woman: wife, mother who forgot that she once felt and, still deserved, a passionate love, not just friendship from her man and love of her children.

If you could cast your characters in the Hollywood adaptation of your book, who would play your characters?

I would steal the cast from Addicted!  Rumer would be played by Sharon Leal, and William Levy would be an awesome Sebastian Ortiz.  I’d have to replace Boris Kodjoe (sadly) with Morris Chestnut (smiles.)

why did you write “Rumer”? or better yet where did the plot idea come from?  When the idea for this story came to me, there were a lot of stories in the news about Ministers and their sexual orientation.  I scrubbed the original idea for Rumer, and the resulting book, I think, is much more the story I wanted to tell verses feeding in to what was happening then.

If you could only pick two people, living or dead, famous or not, to read your book, who would they be and why?

Maya Angelou.  I have loved her my entire life.  Her books inspired me, and I would only hope that mine could one day touch a fraction of the people her work has.  Toni Morrison.  Who hasn’t read something by Toni Morrison, and when they finished it, didn’t think…wow.  Her work makes me think and feel.  To be such an expert in that ability is unimaginable for me.  Ahh… A girl can dream.

Is there a certain type of scene that’s harder for you to write than others? Love? Action? Racy?

I don’t really write racy.  I do write passion, and I think I write them pretty well Male emotion is hard for me.  I always have to tap my resident pool of men on the shoulder to ask them if or why or when would a man do or say certain things.  It’s the only way that I feel I can make my men more legitimate, and not just my watered down version.

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?

Buy a home in Italy!  With a huge wine cellar

Are you on facebook or twitter?

I can be found at: @AngelaKayAustin or www.FaceBook/AngelaKayAustin

Is this your first book? How many books have you written prior (if any?)

Love’s Chance was my first, but it’s no longer available.  My first publisher no longer exists.  I plan to release it as a self-published work.  Currently, I have six pieces that are available.

What would you name the autobiography of your life?

Broken Dreams, True Fantasies

AKA-2013_3

Author: Tamara Philip, Author

Author of Interracial novels including but not limited to romance. Aspiring writer of supernatural fantasy books.

Leave a Reply

