Tamara Philip, Author

Where Love blossoms…

Authors with Flair interview with Charmaine Gordon

3 Comments

I adore Charmaine Gordon! There I said it! She’s warm, zany and an absolute legend in her own right. Not to mention that she’s the author of 17 fantastic novels that are geared to the over 50’s mature romantic suspense readers. (seriously you should check them out!) Lucky for me, Charmaine agreed to do a fun interview to talk about her new book in her River’s Edge Series called Help Wanted (and also to try and get a peek behind the scenes on what makes her tick)!

Charmaine -10 sATURATED_pp8x10g-72y

Tell us about  Help Wanted:

Steve and Sally Atwood have some big adjustments to make when they move to River’s Edge. Steve has lost his career in the corporate world and finds work painting houses. Sally flings off her apron and pursues her lifelong dream to be a reporter in the small town with a big heart, where the motto is ‘Kindness to Strangers’.

 Afraid he is losing Sally to a more exciting world, Steve panics, but despite Sally’s lecherous new boss, together they rediscover all the love of their thirty-five years together and the excitement that brings

.HW CVR front

 Where did the plot idea come from?

When I wrote Housebroken- Book One in the River’s Edge Series, I realized the story dealt with empty nest syndrome and what becomes of the husband and wife when the kids move away. And then I needed a follow-up story. Help Wanted is what happens right after the couple moves to a smaller home in a new town and their lives change. There is humor in both stories, lots of romance and angst as the Atwood’s sort out their feelings.

If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?

 Tap dance on the table the way I used to as an actor in NYC and then take care of my family because they always care for me.

 When did you realize that you wanted to be a writer professionally

When, sadly I lost my good voice to spasmodic dysphonia about ten years ago, I had to leave my acting career behind. Creative juices still flowed and a friend suggested I try writing. After all I’d read scripts for many years, worked on daytime drama, movies, watched directors, knew how stories came to life so why not. And I wrote a book. Sent out query letters, received rejections but actors are accustomed to rejection-no biggie- and then Vanilla Heart Publishing and I crossed paths due to the kindness of Chelle Cordero who read my book. The rest, as we say, is history. Because Kimberlee Williams believed in me, I believed in me. Book after book, novellas, long/short stories and mature romances. There isn’t a day that goes by without writing and I love telling a story.

 

If you could only pick two people, living or dead, famous or not, to read your book, who would they be and why?

My Mom who passed on at age fifty would have been so proud to know I had the courage to move from homemaker to spread my wings and become an actor and now a writer. She came from an era where women stayed in their niche taking care of home and children. She remains famous to me. And then my first husband, Bud, who died young. We shared so much in our thirty eight years of a happy marriage but this is the one part he missed, his wife as an author. And he so loved to read. 

 

 Do you think Life experiences, research or just your imagination makes you a better a writer?

Combine them all and you’ve hit the jackpot. Acting experience, imagination and life. It all adds up.

 

What would you name the autobiography of your life?

Enter into my Imagination. Needs work but what the hey!

In one sentence, what advice would you give to an aspiring author?

If there’s a story inside you, SPILL it. Each day write something. And never give up, rejection  or not. Go for the gold. You’ll be rewarded. It happened to me. It can happen to you. Best wishes.

OOPS! Way more than one sentence.

Where can your fans contact you and find your books?

 @CharJGordon

http://authorCharmaineGordon.wordpress.com

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/help-wanted/id933546940

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-helpwanted-1658298-149.html

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OWHOGYS

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/487447

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Charmaine-Gordon

HW CVR front

Author: Tamara Philip, Author

Author of Interracial novels including but not limited to romance. Aspiring writer of supernatural fantasy books.

3 thoughts on “Authors with Flair interview with Charmaine Gordon

  1. Charmaine is not only a talented and entertaining writer, she is also so full of energy and encouragement for the rest of us. She is one terrific lady and Tamara you did her up well in this interview.

Leave a Reply

